Complete List of Winners (Laureates) of Nobel Prize 2019

The complete list of Nobel winners of 2019 is given below. The ceremony will be held in Stockholm, Sweadon (Except for the Nobel Peace Prize, whose ceremony will be held in Oslo, Norway)

The Nobel Prize in 2019

FieldLaureatesWork / Contribution
PhysicsJames Peebles (Canada)For theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology
Michel Mayor (Switzerland)For the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star
Didier Queloz (Switzerland)
ChemistryJohn B. Goodenough (Germany)For the development of lithium-ion batteries
M. Stanley Whittingham (UK)
Akira Yoshino (Japan)
Physiology or MedicineWilliam G. Kaelin Jr (USA)For their discoveries of how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability
Peter J. Ratcliffe (UK)
Gregg L. Semenza (USA)
Economic SciencesAbhijit Banerjee For their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty
Esther Duflo
Michael Kremer
PeaceAbiy Ahmed Ali
(Prime Minister of Ethiopia)
For his efforts to achieve peace and international cooperation, and in particular for his decisive initiative to resolve the border conflict with neighbouring Eritrea
LiteraturePeter Handke (Austria)For an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience

Important Facts:

  • Esther Duflo became the youngest Laureate in Economic Sciences.
  • John B. Goodenough became the oldest Laureate in the history of Nobel Prize.
  • Esther Duflo and John B. Goodenough are the first couple to receive the Nobel Prize in Economics Science.

You may Like these Articles:

Everything About Nobel Prize and It's Important Facts
Updated List of Indian Nobel Laureates
Complete List of Winners (Laureates) of Nobel Prize 2019 Complete List of Winners (Laureates) of Nobel Prize 2019 Reviewed by Admin on October 12, 2019 Rating: 5

1 comment:

Join Our Free Email Subscription and Get Daily Free GK Notes in Your Email