List of the Bharat Ratna Recipients

List of the Bharat Ratna Recipients

YearName of RecipientAny Note
1954C. RajagopalachariThe only Indian and last Governor-General of independent India
Sarvepalli RadhakrishnanIndia's first Vice-President (1952–62) and second President (1962–67). His birthday on 5 September is observed as "Teachers' Day" in India.
C. V. RamanKnown for the discovery of "Raman scattering". Second Indian to be awarded the Nobel Prize (1930)
1955Bhagwan DasCo-founder of Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapith and worked with Madan Mohan Malaviya for the foundation of Banaras Hindu University.
M. VisvesvarayaHe was a Civil engineer. His birthday, 15 September, is observed as "Engineer's Day".
Jawaharlal NehruThe first and the longest-serving Prime Minister of India (1947–64)
1957Govind Ballabh PantFirst Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh
1958Dhondo Keshav KarveHe established the Widow Marriage Association (1883), Hindu Widows Home (1896), and started Shreemati Nathibai Damodar Thackersey Women's University in 1916
1961Bidhan Chandra RoySecond Chief Minister of West Bengal. His birthday on 1 July is observed as National Doctors' Day.
Purushottam Das Tandon-
1962Rajendra PrasadThe first President of India (1950–62)
1963Zakir HusainSecond Vice-President (1962–67) and the third President of India (1967–69)
Pandurang Vaman Kane-
1966Lal Bahadur ShastriKnown for his slogan "Jai Jawan Jai Kisan" ("Hail the Soldier, Hail the Farmer"). Second Prime Minister of India (1964–66) and led the country during the Indo-Pakistani War of 1965.The first person to be awarded the Bharat Ratna posthumously.
1971Indira GandhiKnown as the Iron Lady of India. First woman PM of India. She was the Prime Minister of India during the Indo-Pakistani War of 1971. 
1975V. V. GiriFirst acting President and Fourth President of India (1969–74)
1976K. Kamaraj-
1980Mother TeresaA catholic nun and the founder of the Missionaries of Charity. She was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1979.
1983Vinoba BhaveHe is known for Bhoodan movement, "Land-Gift Movement. He was awarded the Ramon Magsaysay Award in 1958.
1987Khan Abdul Ghaffar KhanKnown as "Frontier Gandhi”. He joined Khilafat Movement in 1920 and founded Khudai Khidmatgar ("Red Shirt movement") in 1929.The first non-Indian to be awarded the Bharat Ratna.
1988M. G. Ramachandran-
1990Dr. B. R. AmbedkarThe Chief architect of the Indian Constitution and the first Law Minister of India. He was associated with the Dalit Buddhist movement.
Nelson MandelaThe second non-Indian person to be awarded the Bharat Ratna.The President of South Africa (1994–99). Called as the Gandhi of South Africa. He was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1993.
1991Rajiv GandhiThe sixth Prime Minister of India
Vallabhbhai PatelKnown as the "Iron Man of India". First Deputy Prime Minister of India.
Morarji DesaiThe fourth Prime Minister of India (1977–79). He is the only Indian to be awarded the Nishan-e-Pakistan, highest civilian of Pakistan.
1992Abul Kalam AzadIndia's first Minister of Education and worked towards free primary education. Known as "Maulana Azad" and his birthday on 11 November is observed as National Education Day.
J. R. D. TataTata founded India's first airline Air India. The first and only Industrialist to be awarded the Bharat Ratna
Satyajit RayA film maker. He was awarded the Dadasaheb Phalke Award in 1984
1997Gulzarilal NandaHe was two times interim Prime Minister of India (1964, 1966)
Aruna Asaf Ali-
A. P. J. Abdul KalamKnown as "Missile Man of India". He was involved in the development of India's first satellite launch vehicle SLV III and was the architect of Integrated Guided Missile Development Program. He served as the 11th President of India from (2002-2007)
1998M. S. SubbulakshmiCarnatic classical vocalist. The first Indian musician to receive the Ramon Magsaysay Award.
Chidambaram SubramaniamHe is known for his contribution towards Green Revolution in India.
1999Jayaprakash NarayanFamous as "Lok Nayak" ("People's Hero"). Narayan is known for "Total Revolution Movement" or "JP Movement".
Amartya SenWinner of the Nobel Prize in Economic (1998)
Gopinath BordoloiThe first Chief Minister of Assam
Ravi ShankarSitar player
2001Lata MangeshkarKnown as “Nightingale of India”. Lata Mangeshkar was awarded the Dadasaheb Phalke Award in 1989.
Bismillah KhanHindustani classical Shehnai Player
2009Bhimsen JoshiHindustani classical vocalist
2014C. N. R. RaoScientist
Sachin TendulkarSportsperson
2015Madan Mohan MalaviyaFounder of Akhil Bharatiya Hindu Mahasabha (1906) and Banaras Hindu University
Atal Bihari VajpayeeThe Prime Minister of India for three terms; 1996, 1998, 1999–2004.
2019Pranab MukherjeeThe 13th President of India (2012 – 2017)
Bhupen HazarikaIndian musician, poet and film-maker from Assam
Nanaji DeshmukhChandikadas Amritrao Deshmukh also known as Nanaji Deshmukh was a social activist from India

Read everything about the Bharat Ratna AwardDownload PDF of Bharat Ratna Award

List of the Bharat Ratna Recipients List of the Bharat Ratna Recipients Reviewed by Admin on October 03, 2019 Rating: 5

No comments:

Join Our Free Email Subscription and Get Daily Free GK Notes in Your Email